CH yoke servicing

Note: I can’t recommend doing this anymore, see my remark at the end.

With the release of MSFS I decided to pick up my old hobby again and install that old CH yoke. However, I noticed that moving the yoke had become difficult. After seeing this YouTube video which shows how to open the unit I decided to take a look inside to see if anything could be done about this. As my yoke is already quite old I decided to take a gamble and apply a lubricant which doesn’t contain grease for service locks. The idea is that it won’t cause more dust to get stuck again…

After spraying it looked like this:

It looks like a lot of oil has been applied but most of it dissipated. Next, I removed the excess residue before re-assembling the unit.

For now the yoke is working much better so let’s see how this will play out in a couple of weeks.

Warning: if you’d like to try do this yourself please test the spray on a plastic part to see if it does any damage.

Update – 28-11

Not totally unexpected, I can’t recommend doing this anymore as the effect has already waned of. It seems that the lubricant which I used did leave a very small amount of sticky residue and the performance has already degraded.

Leave a comment